top of page

A New Chapter

I am 29 years old and I struggled with the disease of addiction for most of my adult life. I have been in and out of jails and institutions for the past ten years of my life. I have lost many loved ones to this disease including my older brother. As a result of my last relapse I was incarcerated at the county jail for three months and after a drug and alcohol evaluation, I was paroled to an inpatient treatment facility. I was so sick and tired of being sick and tired and I knew that I must do something different this time around if I wanted to maintain long-term sobriety.

Previously, after failed attempts at inpatient treatment, I went directly back home to the same people, places, and things that had led me to relapse to begin with. This time was different, one week into treatment I decided that I must move into a recovery house so that I can be held accountable for my actions.

I knew of a place back home called, “The Harbor” and I knew just the person I needed to talk to. So I called Melissa. After speaking with her for some time, I felt assured that I had made the right decision. Upon successful completion of treatment, I was transported directly to “The Lighthouse”. I met my roommates, got settled in, and at that moment a feeling came over me that I was exactly where I should be. I could feel God beginning to work in my life. I couldn't have asked for a better situation to begin this new way of life. I was now living directly above a church and a sober bar that held Twelve Step meetings. My first weekend back I went downstairs and hung out with other people who weren't getting high and I was having fun! I went to church downstairs that Sunday and was overwhelmed by people in support of my recovery. This was my family and I was proud to be a part of all of this.

Many things have changed in my life since the day that I first came to the “Lighthouse”. Through the grace of God and my support system, I am now able to be a father to my two beautiful daughters. In less than one year I have obtained many personal goals with the support of “The Harbor” including reinstatement of my drivers license, owning a vehicle and maintaining full time employment. It hasn't been an easy road and I know that there will be challenge ahead but I now have a solid support system by my side.

It has been eight months now since I had moved into “The Lighthouse” and I just celebrated one year of sobriety. For the first time in a very long time I now have hope for the future. I am working a Twelve Step program and I am finding things out about myself that I had never known. I have turned my life over to God and now put my full trust and faith in him. I am now focusing on the next chapter of my life with confidence.

bottom of page